The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Older & fairly new rider beginning to fear falling (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/older-fairly-new-rider-beginning-fear-142860/)

zialov 11-07-2012 10:48 PM

Older & fairly new rider beginning to fear falling

Hello everyone,

I began riding lessons around last Feb. at age 59. Now it's November so I'm still pretty new at this. I started out English and then moved to Western. I live in North Carolina and the weather just turned cooler a couple of weeks ago. Since then, my normally slow horse is full of energy. Last week she was not minding me and acting up a bit at the beginning of the lesson which I'd never seen her do before. That was the first time I've ridden her in cooler weather. We got over that hump OK and continued. Today, I just felt totally off my game on her. She resisted jogging slowly and I felt out of balance and out of control when we started working on patterns. It was like I'd never ridden her before. She wanted to take everything at a fast trot. My legs were all over the place and I was really afraid I would fall. I just turned 60 this past month and I'm wondering if that may be doing a head trip on my confidence. Any comments that might help me relax or suggestions on how to handle my fear or adjust to my "new" horse are very welcome.

DancingArabian 11-07-2012 11:02 PM

Since you're working with a trainer, why not enlist his/her help?