The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Draft Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/draft-horses/)
-   -   OUt of interest: What to look for in a draft horse as a riding horse. (http://www.horseforum.com/draft-horses/out-interest-what-look-draft-horse-143179/)

muumi 11-11-2012 03:23 AM

OUt of interest: What to look for in a draft horse as a riding horse.

Hi,

well, I would love to own a clydesdale one day, or maybe a shire... not sure when that day will come, as I would have to sell one to get one, and I'm not good at letting go.

Anyway, I digress. I just wanted to know what to look for specifically conformation-wise in a draft to make it as suitable as possible for riding. I know that is not what they are meant for, and obviously it would just be a horse for my pleasure and no high expectations here. But I watched those videos of the shire horse doing dressage and showjumping... and I was wondering how to be able to see a horse and know it will be able to do that.

Sorry if this is a silly question, and the obvious answer is: the same things you look for in any other horse, but I've been looking at a lot of colts and fillies at a local studfarm's website, and I'm feeling very insecure about who I would pick if I were to have this dream come true this minute.

Pictures of 'ideal' ones would be lovely.
:-)

muumi 11-12-2012 05:37 AM

Ha! Seems I've stumped you guys.

(I'd rather believe that than the alternative.)

Saranda 11-12-2012 07:55 AM

First and foremost - a short back. Most drafts are bred for pulling, not carrying, thus their backs are naturally longer to give them better pulling power and riding can be harmful for them in the long run, especially, if a heavier person happens to be the rider. Apart from that - a good horse is a good horse and you should look out for the same conformational faults as in any other horse. I'm not a pro conformation-wise, though.

This Gypsy Vanner looks like a good example -