The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   adopted reining horse (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/adopted-reining-horse-143288/)

TracySmith 11-12-2012 09:55 AM

adopted reining horse

I adopted a rescued
horse 6 months ago.The previos owner claims she was a reining horse.She is very sweet.My daughter has ridden her bareback.She took to the saddle ok untill the flaps made contact,then she freaked.What could the reason be for this.

goingnowhere1 11-12-2012 08:11 PM

I have no real experience with this, but I'd think that she's either scared of it, or (if she is a reiner) she might have very sensitive sides and my slapping the stirrups down she thought you meant go.

SorrelHorse 11-12-2012 08:31 PM

^ Agreed.

Some reiners will scoot right out from under you if you don't ride quiet enough.

I would suggest finding a trainer to do all this stuff for you....

franknbeans 11-12-2012 08:39 PM

Some trainers train their reiners such that they flap their legs prior to using the big spurs(during training) so that the hose learns to react just from the flap of the leg this may well be what you are experiencing. Does she have any old spur marks? I would bet that is what this is. Reiners are super sensitive, regardless. That is how the are trained

Muppetgirl 11-12-2012 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by franknbeans (Post 1755254)
Some trainers train their reiners such that they flap their legs prior to using the big spurs(during training) so that the hose learns to react just from the flap of the leg this may well be what you are experiencing. Does she have any old spur marks? I would bet that is what this is. Reiners are super sensitive, regardless. That is how the are trained