The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Gaited horse...again! lol (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/gaited-horse-again-lol-143477/)

Horsecrazy4ever 11-13-2012 09:57 PM

Gaited horse...again! lol

I would like some advice on my gaited horse(missouri fox trotter)

I am very new to gaited horses and was just wondering if I can barrel race on them?? I would think so, but I would like to hear from those who do... are they better or worse then a QH??

Also, I have no idea how to teach a horse to barrel race... but I want a challenge! lol -- Does anyone have any good YOUTUBE video's of how to train a horse to barrel race?

And do you wanna barrel race in a HACK or a BIT? I ride him in a hack and he is very responsive :) Also, do you wanna plow rein or neck rein when BR?

I know very little about GAMING a horse, but I thought there was no better time then the present to learn :D

Thanks in advance :)

Brighteyes 11-13-2012 10:14 PM

I can answer the first part a little! My mare's sire was a SSHBEA sport horse champion. (My mare could also out sprint a barrel racing QH on a straight away, but I never tried her on barrels.) They did a lot of events on that stud: barrels, poles, cattle work, reining, to name a few. From the videos I've seen, he was a amazing SSH barrel racer, but not much compared to a good QH. So yes; you CAN barrel race a gaited. I don't see where you get the idea you can't? They'll be about as good as any other breed put into a job they weren't bred for. :wink:

Nightside 11-13-2012 10:36 PM

I've never taken a riding lesson and nobody ever taught me much about barrel racing. I looked up the basic pattern and got my turn-on-a-dime speed demon gelding and gave it a go. Basically just memorize the pattern and start walking it, and go faster with tighter turns the more you and the horse get familiar with it.