The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   VIDEO: Ian McDonald's Totally Awesome Youtube Horsemanship Show! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/video-ian-mcdonalds-totally-awesome-youtube-143781/)

Ian McDonald 11-16-2012 05:13 PM

VIDEO: Ian McDonald's Totally Awesome Youtube Horsemanship Show!

What's up good people!

Ok, so maybe the title is a bit of an exaggeration. It's a working title. :mrgreen:

Alright, so what's this thing about? Just an idea I've been kicking around for awhile.

Allow me to set the scene.

http://www.horseforum.com/members/26...view-34488.jpg

For the past 15 years or so I've been chipping away at this horsemanship thing. Giving myself an education through my own study and experimentation in the school of hard knocks. You could say that in my education I'm majoring in horsemanship with a minor in cowboyism. Thanks to the patronage of my good friend and his un-used parcel of land I've been able to have unlimited access to 36 acres on the California coast for the past 6 years. It's been a unique learning experience, to see how the horses live when given room to move and express their true natures and I've learned a lot.

http://www.horseforum.com/members/26...camp-34487.jpg

In addition to observing how the horses live in this open space, I have a round corral which has been like a live laboratory for learning and experimenting with different training methods and styles. There are also trails nearby, and a 4-mile stretch of open beach which is like the world's biggest and most beautiful arena (it's great for galloping).

http://www.horseforum.com/members/26...fice-34481.jpg

http://www.horseforum.com/members/26...rail-34489.jpg

http://www.horseforum.com/members/26...rena-32149.jpg

Cool right? I dig it.

Ok! So what's the point? I'm getting to it! I promise, there's a video in here somewhere. XD