The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   Coat, Mane, and Dandruff Advice (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/coat-mane-dandruff-advice-143867/)

Brendagun 11-17-2012 07:56 PM

Coat, Mane, and Dandruff Advice

I have an eight year old QH that I've been owning for about four months now. He's got the saddest little mane I've ever seen, not even two inches long and very scraggly, but has a very healthy and long tail. He'd been left in pasture a few years before I got him and was sun bleached. He's just starting to get his coloring back, but has developed very bad dandruff in his mane, and a milder dandruff on his neck. It doesn't seem to bother him very much. His coat is also rather dull. He was just wormed and updated on his shots last week, for the first time in I don't know how long.

This is my first horse, so I'm not sure on a few things. How often should I be bathing him? So far he's been washed down with Mane and Tail every month. It gets really hot where I live, and I've been getting him back into shape, so he's getting rinsed off every time he breaks a sweat. (He's in absolutely fantastic condition muscle wise now.) He also gets a nice twenty minute brushing every day. He isn't getting any supplements or vitamins, just regular hay and grass in the pasture, and a generic grain twice a day. Should I be giving him something else? I'm willing to buy whatever is needed. Also, I've been trying to avoid messing with his mane in hopes that it will grow back, though I've noticed no growth since I've gotten him. Should I just roach it off and let it grow back in, or try to salvage it?

Sorry for the very long post, and thank you in advance for any help. :lol:

ParaIndy 11-17-2012 09:51 PM

http://www.smartpakequine.com/smartshine-6317p.aspx?cm_vc=Search[/URL]