The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   General Gymkhana Help! (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/general-gymkhana-help-145165/)

Hailey1203 11-30-2012 11:37 AM

General Gymkhana Help!

So. A friend of mine has two horses. One is a well broke quarter horse, around 15.1hh. The other is a wound up standardbred cross. Anyways, a few weeks ago, we went on a trail ride together. I rode Adobe, the quarter horse. We had a good ride, nothing spectacular really, just a calm ride.

Now, my friend and i are going to a gymkhana tomorrow. Its her birthday present to me :D Yay! I am so ridiculously excited.

However, i have never done a gymkhana before. I know the patterns and the rules, but that's about it.

So, my first gymkhana, on a horse ive ridden once.

Tips pleeaaassse!

DrumRunner 11-30-2012 11:46 AM

lol Relax! Just have fun with it, don't get yourself worked up, just remember you're going for a good time with your friend and just do your best. If it's your friend fun show I'd just really take the time to sit back and watch how things work, get into it and ask questions. The biggest thing is to just remember to have fun with it.

Hailey1203 11-30-2012 11:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrumRunner (Post 1778965)
lol Relax! Just have fun with it, don't get yourself worked up, just remember you're going for a good time with your friend and just do your best. If it's your friend fun show I'd just really take the time to sit back and watch how things work, get into it and ask questions. The biggest thing is to just remember to have fun with it.

Thank you! I need to remember to take a deep breath lol. I'm very competitive, and i need to keep reminding myself that I'm just going for fun.

DrumRunner 11-30-2012 11:53 AM