The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Conformation Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/)
-   -   Is her conformation good for a barrel horse? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/her-conformation-good-barrel-horse-145810/)

BackwoodsBaby 12-06-2012 05:44 PM

Is her conformation good for a barrel horse?

4 Attachment(s)
This is ginger she is a 18 yr old paint. She ran barrels seasonal for 4 years then put to pasture and barely used. Now I have her she was my trail horse for a while then i wanted to get into barrel racing, and was told she would be good for me since i was a beginner at barrels but expirenced rider. (yes i do have lesson on barrel racing, not doing anything backyard.) But like title says, Is her conformation good for a barrel horse?Attachment 120847

Attachment 120848

Attachment 120849

Attachment 120850

lilruffian 12-08-2012 09:42 PM

Any horse can run barrels, doesn't matter their conformation. If you were to get into the big levels, she probably couldn't keep up with the pros.
She has fairlydecent hindquarters, which is where her power is going to come from.
Stifle looks low in those photos, which would mean a shorter stride, which could be a good thing when getting around those turns.
It all really comes down to her temperment and ability. Is she responsive? Agile? Quick to turn? Fast?
Nothing bad is really standing out to me that would affect her at beginner barrels. Infact the only sever confo flaw would be her neck and shoulder and she is possibly a little toed out as well

Tryst 12-09-2012 08:48 AM