The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Henri de Rivel Saddles (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/henri-de-rivel-saddles-145893/)

TWHforever 12-07-2012 05:10 PM

Henri de Rivel Saddles

I'm looking to get a new close contact saddle for my new horse. Is the brand, Henri de Rivel, and good? My budget is around $900 dollars and I know that I'm not going to get the best quality saddle around with that. Also, are the dover circuit saddles, specifically the dover's circuit close contact saddle, any good? Any other brands you like? Thanks again!:-)

equiniphile 12-07-2012 05:22 PM

With a $900 budget, I would definitely be looking at used saddles of reputable brands. I have no personal experience with HDRs, but Toulouses and Pessoas are good brands to look into used.

Coffeejunkie 12-07-2012 09:36 PM

I have an HDR pro a/o I got about 9 years ago. I am very happy with it for what it is. My trainer also has one (i think 4-5 years old?) and likes it. They both have fit a good variety of horses. It's no childeric, etc but they are nice for the money. As said, I would always try to find something used higher quality in your price range if its possible. If you cant find something used, i dont think you will be dissapointed in an hdr. You can also browse tack websites and check out reviews. Hopefully someone with a newer one will chime in too!

xJumperx 12-07-2012 10:05 PM

Personally, I heavily dislike HDRs. My old trainer made me ride in one for shows, and it never fit me. It always put me in a chairseat, and hurt me every time I rode in it. It just felt weird to sit in, on top of everything else. But then again, saddles are kind of specified - one person could hate a brand, but the next person could swear by it. I would never buy a saddle before sitting in it, or at least one of the same brand, first.