The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Trainer taking advantage or is this commonplace? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/trainer-taking-advantage-commonplace-146364/)

Heelsdown 12-11-2012 07:30 PM

Trainer taking advantage or is this commonplace?

I'm in my 2nd year of lessons, however with only riding once a week, sometimes less and being 41, I'm moving at a snail's pace, lol. I ride english and western but these days prefer english. I can walk and trot no problem, and I'm working on the canter. I can't do more than a few strides. I know basic commands and I'm working on things like leg yields and just overall technique. So I think I'm a solid advanced beginner. I'm not a total newb obviously but I still put myself in the beginner category.

I was under the impression that beginners always ride seasoned lesson horses. Lately my trainer has been putting me on very green horses. They have been broke but they are still green. They are 3 years old, very new under saddle, and just very hard to manage. I feel like I'm all over the arena fighting with the horse. She said that it's good for me to learn but honestly, I'm don't feel like I advance much in these lessons. My fear level starts rising and I'm frustrated the whole time. I feel like I truly advance when I'm riding the more seasoned horses.

I suddenly got the feeling last week that I'm paying to break horses. Like I'm paying her and helping to break in her horses. But I wanted to ask here if this was something I should be doing at this point. I always read green + green= black and blue. So that tells me I should not be riding green horses. But I don't want to assume my trainer to doing anything wrong if this is common. What do you all think?

JustDressageIt 12-11-2012 08:01 PM