The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barn Maintenance (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/)
-   -   Best bedding in a stall? (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/best-bedding-stall-146552/)

Prismis 12-13-2012 11:42 AM

Best bedding in a stall?

We just built our horses 2 stalls and I put straw in there as bedding but in 2 days they've already gone thru a bale each!

What is the best, cleanest, cheapest bedding to use? And how much would you put in at a time? How often would you clean it? II don't mean just muck out the poop, I mean completely remove it all and put in fresh stuff...

Thanks! I've never done stalls before :)
Posted via Mobile Device

Wallaby 12-13-2012 11:55 AM

I REALLY like that wood pellet bedding.
I put about four 40# bags into my mare's 12x12 stall, pick the poop and pee spots daily (she's in at night so I do it in the morning when I let her out), and add a new bag every week.
So far, using that method, I haven't had to strip the stall at all and it still smells fresh!
It soaks up water like crazy, doesn't smell if you get the pee spots out on a daily basis, and it's super easy to shake off poop piles = less waste of clean bedding.

Bottom line: it's my favorite. haha

Delfina 12-13-2012 11:58 AM

A mixture of sawdust and shavings. Sawdust to soak up pee and dribbled water, shaving for nice fluffy bedding.

Straw is the WORST, as is large-flake shavings. Straw is slippery, absorbs nothing and cannot be picked around. Large flake shavings are slippery, absorb next to nothing and stick to the poo way too much.

Speed Racer 12-13-2012 11:58 AM

Straw is great for warmth, but I've never been a fan. Too much waste.

The best and easiest to work with is sawdust, if you can get it. Many sawmills used to sell it by the truckload, but so many have contracts with actual businesses that it's difficult to find a mill that will deliver a whole load to an individual now.