The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Myler vs "regular" snaffles

10K views 12 replies 12 participants last post by  SorrelHorse 
#1 ·
Hey there guys!

I'm going to be getting my first horse soon, and this means choosing out bits. I really like what I've seen/heard about Myler brand bits, but have never used one. My experience has mostly been with loose ring french link and single joint snaffles. I do know basic bit stuff, but I don't want to be spending 70-90 dollars on a bit that may not be great.

So, I was wondering if someone could give me more information on how the Myler brand works compared to french link and single joints, and any other information on any of the three. I know Myler is a brand and produces the other types of bits, but that's my extent of knowledge other than some of my barn friends have them.

I'll be riding an OTTB, green or track broke. I'm only looking at these bits as they are fairly mild, and I have some experience with them, or good reviews for them

#3 ·
Myler Comfort Snaffle Dee Ring Bit | Dover Saddlery

I have this Myler bit. And it is by far my favorite bit to use on any horse! I have 4 horses, and all of them love this bit and work amazingly well in it.

Each side moves independently. It doesnt pinch. My horses work so well in it they get foamy lips (which is a good thing) They are soft and supple in it. It was well, well worth the money. :-D
Posted via Mobile Device

#4 ·
I've heard great things about the Myler and when looking at them in person they seem great - good joins and movement - but I just can't justify spending that much on bit!

I use French/KK snaffles and they are good. If I meet someone again who has a Myler I might borrow it but I'm not going to go out and buy one if I don't need one, especially if it might not end up being right for my horse!

#5 ·