The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Conformation Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/)
-   -   What's your thought on her conformation? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/whats-your-thought-her-conformation-147239/)

Elizabeth9397 12-20-2012 03:53 AM

What's your thought on her conformation?

2 Attachment(s)
This is babe, she is 15yrs old and is an appaloosa/thoroughbred, i've noticed myself she has very high withers an a long back but other than that what else do you guys notice about her?

Misty'sGirl 12-20-2012 04:43 AM

The top of her butt looks quite high and she seems to stand under herself. I'm still learning this stuff, so hopefully someone can tell you more.

Tracer 12-20-2012 05:06 AM

Her legs seem awfully thin, and I don't like the look of her pasterns at all. They look like they'd snap in an instant. She looks to toe out, especially in the hind end. Her neck is low set, her back is long, and her croup is set back too far. She also looks a bit long in the toe, and her shoulder is a little upright.

She also looks like she could stand to go on a bit of a diet :P

Even though she's not exactly well put together, doesn't mean she's not beautiful. I think her biggest problem is that she looks to have the body and neck of an Appaloosa, with the legs and head of a Thoroughbred.

Endiku 12-20-2012 04:36 PM

She also needs a trim. Her hooves are a wreck unfortunately, which might be one reason that she's standing under herself so much.

TimberRidgeRanch 12-20-2012 06:13 PM

Like the others said but also notice she looks to have windpuff on her rear fetlock or is that the picture? I never liked appies in the past but my taste is changing. Shes cute!

TRR

DraftyAiresMum 12-20-2012 06:30 PM