The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Just Starting..? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/just-starting-147833/)

MustangGlory 12-27-2012 11:57 AM

Just Starting..?

Hi! I am wanting to start jumping with my mare, but I've never done it before. Any tips on how to start? When taking my first jump what position should I be in and what should I do? Thanks!

Fulford15 12-27-2012 12:18 PM

I can't stress enough about this matter, please if you are going to jump, get a trainer/coach to help you, you could severally hurt yourself and/or your horse if you don't know what your doing.

themacpack 12-27-2012 12:20 PM

It sounds like both you and your mare are new to jumping, right? If so, I would suggest that you seek some lessons on an experienced jumping horse with a good instructor to help you learn the mechanics from a rider's point - and then work with a trainer to help your mare learn the mechanics from the horse's point.

Speed Racer 12-27-2012 12:41 PM

You need a professional trainer. Learning to jump isn't something you should be trying learn on your own, especially if your horse isn't trained to do it.

verona1016 12-27-2012 06:26 PM

Oh hey, I'm in the same boat :-) I'm in the process of teaching my horse how to jump and am re-learning myself (I jumped when I first started taking lessons about 6 years ago, but I've really forgotten most of it; I do have a much better understanding of flat work now, so hopefully I won't be too awful at it!)

My dressage trainer helped me get started with the ground work necessary- this page is pretty similar to a lot of the exercises I've been doing with my horse on the lunge line: Lorien Stable - Training a Horse to Jump My horse has a pretty good grasp on jumping on the lunge line now (a requirement before you try jumping while mounted), and I've been practicing my two-point as well as doing mock jumps (just ground poles between jump standards)