The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   General Off Topic Discussion (http://www.horseforum.com/general-off-topic-discussion/)
-   -   Gator Stew. step by step. (http://www.horseforum.com/general-off-topic-discussion/gator-stew-step-step-148042/)

AnalisaParalyzer 12-29-2012 09:04 AM

Gator Stew. step by step.

1 Attachment(s)
HI!

We recently received about six lbs of gator form a friend who can afford legal tags xD so he gave us some thigh and some tail. i took the thigh and did the only thing i feel its really good for, and thats stew. so! since i've never done this before, and i'm kind flying by the seat of my pants, i figured i'd put it here!

I started it last night, but i will explain how its gotten to this point.

i took the thawed meat, and because thigh is thicker and more fibrous than tail, its often tougher. so we boil it. throw in some garlic, salt, onion, and a little powdered chicken or beef bullion. set to boil on low. i left mine overnight. put it on about 8, tasted it around 730 am. it was a little like an earthier chicken broth. heavier, but thats what a stew is supposed to be :)

This afternoon, i will be adding potatoes, carrots, and celery. tomorrow morning, i will add peas, and corn. heres what it looks like this morning :)

Foxhunter 12-29-2012 01:36 PM

First catch your 'gator!

Fat chance in the UK.

On the other hand with all the rain we are getting they would survive here.

AnalisaParalyzer 12-29-2012 01:44 PM

lol, i could ship one to ya if ya want! we get em in our yards, in our golf course lakes, in our pools, in our garages, i know a lady who ended up with one in her paddock just strolling along. were alex and i used to live we'd pick up the little 4 footers that wandered to close to the chicken coop and eat those, and we always had to be careful on trails that we didnt stumble onto a nest.

dbarabians 12-30-2012 08:55 AM