The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Natural Horsemanship Mentor/Mentee (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/natural-horsemanship-mentor-mentee-148231/)

mmoses1979 12-30-2012 07:28 PM

Natural Horsemanship Mentor/Mentee

I am a teacher of children with severe special needs....I would never send a regular education teacher into my classroom (I have two very aggressive students) without any prior knowledge or experience....that being said, teachers have created a Mentor/Mentee program for new teachers...I feel that I am deeply connected to animals and have been my whole life. Because of my educational philosophy and my understanding of alternative therapies for children with special needs, I believe that horses have a great healing power.

I currently volunteer at a therapeutic riding center and have been since the beginning of June. For me this is not enough exposure to horses/horsemanship and daily care of horses to feel comfortable using the power of horses to bring out what humans cannot for some of the children with the most severe needs.

What I am really looking for is a mentor....I am willing to work for free, move anywhere, and have the monetary means to do this for as long as my mentor/teacher feels I am ready to comfortably work on a ranch and can say, "I am experienced with horses."

I am self-motivated and an extremely hard worker. I am mature 33/f and am following a feeling I have deep inside of me. I just need to be given the chance and a person who is willing to take me under his/her wing (and with the same philosophy of working with horses as I have)...I know it is a lot to ask...but as I said, I ask for no monetary compensation, no room and board, only knowledge, skills, someone I can call my mentor, and also help out on the barn/ranch at the same time.