The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Should I try learning to jump? (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/should-i-try-learning-jump-148237/)

horselover01 12-30-2012 07:54 PM

Should I try learning to jump?

I'm thinking about trying to learn to jump sometime soon but I'm now that familiar with the terms used in jumping so please explain a little. I've been riding English pleasure for a little over 8 years so I'm not really a novice rider but I've never jumped over anything besides a log on a trail ride, which was maybe a foot or a foot and a half tall. I have an eight year old appaloosa mare that is still green but I want to show her pleasure for about a two years before I try anything new on her, but I could be taking lessons while I show her pleasure.

I was also wondering what kind of confirmation is best for jumping. She is my other horse's daughter and she moves and is shaped a lot like her only she is build a little bigger and I have been told that my horse looks like he would be a good jumper. She is not spooky and she is very smart, the first time I rode her she had only been ridden four times bofore and she behaved great. Thanks! :-P

BigBenLoverforLife 12-31-2012 10:36 PM

2 Words, a trainer....

horselover01 01-02-2013 12:09 PM

Thanks! Well I think I know where I'm going to take lessons. I really like her horses and they always do good when they go to pleasure shows, plus she really like apps and thats what I have. :)

graceunderpressure 01-02-2013 09:55 PM

Jumping is a lot of fun, but you definitely want a trainer working with you, especially if you have never done it before. It's not my favorite discipline (it was when I was a kid, though!) but it can be quite a rush!