The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Gross description - mare very mucousy... what is it? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/gross-description-mare-very-mucousy-what-1484/)

photographerJ 04-09-2007 08:26 AM

Gross description - mare very mucousy... what is it?

I am new to horse ownership, and I board my two mares at a local stable until I am confident I have learned enough to bring them onto my property.

My new mare, I bought about three weeks ago. She is 6 years old and a QH/Draft mix of a more average height. I was in a dusty indoor ring with her the other day and she coughed twice. It didn't sound mucousy or anything other than a simple dry cough and everyone kept telling me it was due to the dust.

Flash forward to Saturday, I went to get her out of the field and she had the most yellow thick mucus I had ever seen in my life dripping from her one nostril.

I brought her in, her temp was up, and we ended up giving her penicillin and something else to take her fever down.

What on EARTH causes that much mucus? What kind of sickness nad how on earth could she have gotten it? Is it because of the stress of coming to a new barn? (no other horse at the barn is sick right now).

Like I said, I am new to this, so other people were checking her out for me... I was told no wheezing was heard in her lungs unless it is really deep.

meggymoo 04-09-2007 09:38 AM

Hi,
First and fore most. Have you consulted a vet?

Sounds like some kind of Viral infection, all the ones I know of requiring veterinary assistance.

photographerJ 04-09-2007 09:58 AM

Yep, we have consulted a vet. Saturday, the vet was contacted and the vet okayed the use of penicillin and the pills we gave her (my boarding stable vets most of their horses on the property, and then brings in the regular vet by request or if things aren't getting better - basically, they do what the vet suggests before bringing the vet onto the property).