The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Pleasure (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/)
-   -   Leg cues for pleasure? (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/leg-cues-pleasure-148607/)

kmdstar 01-02-2013 06:32 PM

Leg cues for pleasure?

What are the most common leg cues for western pleasure horses to get them to jog/lope?

I bought a new WP mare for me to learn pleasure on. They told me she is spur broke, but I don't ride with spurs since I am new to WP. I can walk/turn/back/pivot/spin her without much problem but when it comes to jogging and loping we seem to be getting mixed signals.

I am going to take lessons on her in the spring to figure her out, but for now I'd like to look up as much info as I can and get her a little figured out.

kmdstar 01-02-2013 08:58 PM

Bumping up

oh vair oh 01-02-2013 09:05 PM

If I remember correctly, you would usually bump your spur against her sides rhythmically for a jog. For a lope you would put your outside spur on. I think those are the most common spur cues?

But it just depends on what your trainer says, or e-mail her previous owners and ask them.

kmdstar 01-04-2013 11:42 AM

They said slide outside leg back a little and kiss should get her to lope. Too much snow now for me to try now but that worked when I tried her out. But I'm having trouble getting a jog, I just have to find the right cue I guess. I've been using too much leg & getting a nice trot out of her but that isn't what I'm looking for right now LOL.

GottaRide 01-07-2013 02:56 PM

Bump her with both lower legs & cluck for a jog.

A lot of times, my WP will start jogging fast when his rider braces their weight in the stirrups & sticks their feet out. He needs to feel the rider's legs on his sides to maintain the slow jog. The rider stays relaxed & the horse stays relaxed.