The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Meet the Community (http://www.horseforum.com/meet-community/)
-   -   Hi from barefoot traveller! (http://www.horseforum.com/meet-community/hi-barefoot-traveller-148888/)

Katy and Kaylee 01-05-2013 01:02 PM

Hi from barefoot traveller!

Well not quite travelling right now, but I have been on the road with my beautiful Haflinger mare Kaylee for almost three years, covering 5000 km in western Europe (Germany, France and Spain), so I still think of us as travellers! :)
On the road Kaylee was pulling a swiss-army cart with all my movable household on it, and I walked beside her, leading her. She had some trouble with her feet when I got her, but barefoot/boots worked very well for her, and after a transition period of some months from shoes to boots she never had any problems at all. I can honestly say that her boots were REALLY tested and that they really performed!
I am not a horse expert at all, Kaylee and I learnt the ropes together day by day, but it worked out really well for us. Now that we are more or less settled in SW France I would like to start riding her, and I am getting a (western) saddle and all the tack. I am looking forward to begin a new adventure with this gorgeous friend, and I always found this forum very useful and informative, so I finally decided to stop lurking and join in.
Well met you all!
Katy

grayshell38 01-05-2013 01:09 PM

Wow. That is very cool! Welcome to our humble forum. I hope you stick around, as it sounds like you'd have a lot of very interesting stories to share. Do you have any pictures of your horse/cart set up? We love pictures here. :-)

Katy and Kaylee 01-05-2013 01:22 PM

I will post some in the next days, it's a promise! :)

Stories, oh yes, we have some of those!

Thanks for the welcome!

HorseLovinLady 01-06-2013 10:02 PM

Welcome!

loveduffy 01-07-2013 12:26 AM

Welcome to the forum you will find that people here are very helpful so sit down and ask away it could not hurt :)