The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Do YOU wear a helmet? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/do-you-wear-helmet-149620/)

LikeaTB 01-11-2013 05:47 PM

Do YOU wear a helmet?

I am going to start wearing my new helmet that I got today (Tipperary Sportage), and I was looking around at helmet stuff on the forum and I came across a few 'do you wear a helmet' questions, but they were all old posts and I didn't want to bring it back up, so I made my own.

So....do you wear a helmet?

Quite honestly, I haven't worn one in a year or two, since I did English. I wore one the first year doing Western after English but then I stopped (I've been doing Western for 3 years). I got a dressage saddle for Christmas and I know it will be easier for me to fall off in that saddle, I got a helmet. My barn had one but it was a darned Troxel Sport, and was very uncomfortable.

What are your reasons for wearing/not wearing a helmet?

Thanks for answering!

DraftyAiresMum 01-11-2013 05:56 PM

I wear one. In fact, I need a new one. I wear one because I've had friends get hurt while not wearing one and I don't want that to be me. I also wear one because, to me, it just makes sense to.

I really want to get a Tipperary Sportage. I hate the Troxel I have.
Posted via Mobile Device

BornToRun 01-11-2013 06:00 PM

I wear one every time I ride, except for a handful of times when one was not available to me. I have a track record of falling off in really odd ways, but I've never fallen off doing something stupid (I have done stupid things!) I'd also like to live past sixteen :)

bsms 01-11-2013 06:13 PM