The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Job anywhere in Alberta Canada!

4K views 18 replies 9 participants last post by  Saddlebag 
#1 ·
22, currently live in Ontario I have 14 years of experience with horses; exercising, some training, barn maintenance at many different places including an Equine Vet clinic, and some experience breezing racing quarter horses. I don't have a specific discipline, I love jumping and I have recently learned the utmost importance of having a stronger topline and true collection. I unfortunately do not have much experience with Western, but I am seriously dying to learn. I also received a lariat rope for Christmas, and have been practicing on my homemade dummy (there are pictures of it on my page) and I would love to get better, and actually use any roping skills I may have on something other than a dummy. My long term goals are to become a horse trainer, and open up a tack shop.

Where I live, horses are mainly used for showing. I am tired of the Politics, the anxiety, the questionable training/behavior correction methods and the overall attitudes. I want to experience working on a Ranch where there are hundreds of acres of pasture for horses and cattle. I want to learn to work herds by horseback, how to Dr cattle and rope properly instead of for sport and learn different methods of horse training. I know I have little to no experience, but I am motivated and dedicated.

I need to work in a paid position (minimum wage works fine). I am also in need of accommodation.

See less See more
#3 ·
Help?

I know this doesn't belong here, I have a post in the Jobs forum as well.

I am desperately trying to find a paid job in Alberta, Canada as a ranch hand or the like. I've tried Kijiji, Job bank, anything else i could think of but i'm not finding much. If anyone could help it would be much appreciated :)

#4 ·