The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Colors and Genetics (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/)
-   -   Genetic knowitalls take notice! Lol (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/genetic-knowitalls-take-notice-lol-150506/)

Breezy2011 01-20-2013 02:04 AM

Genetic knowitalls take notice! Lol

Okay, so I am not planning on breeding a horse anytime in the next 10 years.

I am very curios though to this:

Lets say a stallions can only produce dun horses. You breed him to a mare that can only produce lets say black horses.

What will the foal turn out to be, because the sire and the dam can only produce 1 colour of foal... but different colours.

I am just curios, so please share your thoughts.

Blue Smoke 01-20-2013 04:49 AM

I am by no means an expert, but I would say either grulla (black dun) or bay dun depending on the agouti status of both parents. Homozygous black means they will never produce a red based foal. Bay, brown, black, grulla, etc are all black based either with or without modifiers, and all can be homozygous for black without actually being black.
Posted via Mobile Device

Chiilaa 01-20-2013 05:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Breezy2011 (Post 1852265)
Okay, so I am not planning on breeding a horse anytime in the next 10 years.

I am very curios though to this:

Lets say a stallions can only produce dun horses. You breed him to a mare that can only produce lets say black horses.

What will the foal turn out to be, because the sire and the dam can only produce 1 colour of foal... but different colours.

I am just curios, so please share your thoughts.

This is where you are underthinking it. Dun is a modifier, not a colour.

There are only two colours of horse - red (chestnut) and black. Everything else, every other colour in the miriad of coats in the horse world, are modifications of these two bases.

This guy is homozygous for black:

http://www.horsesofgold.com/ASH/Drif...0Traveller.jpg