The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Pleasure (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/)
-   -   Critique Trot and Lope (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/critique-trot-lope-150846/)

MyLittlePonies 01-22-2013 05:32 PM

Critique Trot and Lope

Hey I was just wondering if you guys can point out when I take him to the trainer. I notice he head-bobs a lot, he's relying on his front end and not pushing with his hindquarters.....at least with this girl. Any suggestions, comments, or any advice before I get him to the trainer in the next month? I was hoping to have him trained in patterns.

FaceTheMusic 01-23-2013 05:46 AM

I am not a pro at this by any means but, I can tell you what I see. In the jogging video I see the rider working the reins to get his head down. This should not happen. Head down should be a leg cue. Squeeze and his head should drop. You can teach this fairly easily by having him stand and squeezing your legs and reins until he lowers his head. Do this every time you ride and slowly decrease the amount of rein you use until it is all leg. Then do the same at each gait.

In the loping video he is very heavy in the front end, which you already know. To fix that you need to get him off the bit. You can start by loping a few strides(no more than 5) then stop, back and lope off again. Repeat this until he gets lighter in the front and then let him lope like normal. If he starts getting heavy again, do it again. You can do the same thing at the jog to smooth out his stride a bit. And it should also help with the head bob because that is caused by him pulling himself forward with his front end.

These things are easy enough for me to teach and I'm not a professional trainer by any means. You have a very nice horse! Good luck!

MyLittlePonies 01-23-2013 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FaceTheMusic (Post 1857283)