The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Trail Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/trail-riding/)
-   -   German martingale on the trail (http://www.horseforum.com/trail-riding/german-martingale-trail-150920/)

Karan 01-23-2013 09:38 AM

German martingale on the trail

I am a novice rider with a new 5 yo Peruvian Paso. Previous owner had him on quite a severe bit, and trying to downgrade him to Kimberwicke curb. Have been training him using German martingale to set his head, but I have read that that equipment should not be used on the trail, since it is of course a training device and forces the horse to hold his head correctly. Going on trail ride next weekend; what are you guys' opinions ?

DancingArabian 01-23-2013 09:44 AM

I don't see a reason to use it from what you said. Using it as a head setter doesn't help the horse to properly, and moving properly is what sets the head. I don't think it should be used on the trail or off in this manner, but that's just me.

I think if you're concerned about headset, taking some lessons with a trainer will help you teach the horse how to move his body correctly.
Posted via Mobile Device

bbsmfg3 01-23-2013 09:53 AM

It's use on the trail is not an issue. But it's use to set the head is an issue. If you try to force a head set, you are forcing the horse to move unbalanced and out of it's natural way of moving.

mls 01-23-2013 10:14 AM

I see trail riding as a good way to clear the cobwebs. That being said, it does not mean training goes out the window.

Unless the horse is dangerous with head tossing, I would loosen the martingale on trail. The horse will still know it's there but not so restrictive that he is sore after the trail ride. If he becomes really naughty, you can tighten to remind him.

Karan 01-23-2013 12:08 PM