The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Advice for a new rider, how do I start this sport???

7K views 41 replies 22 participants last post by  updownrider 
#1 ·
Hi, I've never done horse riding before and it looks like it could be fun.

I do not want to wear those silly tights, hats and jackets that the English horse riding people wear. I don't wan't to do dressage either- it looks stupid and I don't see the point of making an animal dance. I've thought of doing western riding since my fourth birthday when I dressed up as a cowboy, then going the USA when I was six on a tour of "cowboy country". I never found out more about horse riding till recently when I saw a cowboy documentary and remembered again...Thought I may as well give it a go...

Anyway, where can I do western riding near Epping Forest, or London, or Essex?

I'm 17 and have never ridden before. I also don't have loads of money.

Any help much appreciated thanks.

P.S.
Is it odd for a 17 year old boy to be interested in starting horse riding? People have said that horse riding is for little girls and Bronies (and I don't like my little pony/ not a Brony and am not a little girl). There doesn't seem to be any basis for this stereotype. I mean apparently a hundred years ago, horse riding was not generally considered to be for women so what's happened? Any Ideas?

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Most people I know ride in jeans and a regular T shirt... HAHA the 'silly clothes' cost an arm and a leg I don't know many people who can afford to ride that stylish, everyday.

welcome to the forum! hope someone in your area can direct you to what you're looking for. You can ride english without wearing the clothes too. just a thought.

#4 ·
best thing to do is find a few stables in your area and ask to work in trade for some lessons. even if they teach you in an english saddle the basics will be similar.