The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Smalll Horses in my area! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/smalll-horses-my-area-151069/)

Wallee 01-24-2013 11:58 AM

Smalll Horses in my area!

I have been buying and selling horses in my area for about 2 years now and I have found that in my area (northern mississippi) that finding solid built QH's is near impossible and when you do find one they are waaaayyy overpriced. Like a mediocre bred horse with no training for like 2500 $. Thats crazy lol. Anyone else out there have similar issues in there area? I am currently looking to buy another horse for myself and am finding it pretty hard to find one that meets the standards I am looking for. I am looking for something to use around the farm to rope off of and be able to carry my 6'1'' tail all day lol. But it looks like I will be looking for a while to find something that is over 15h with some weight to it. I can find 14h 900# little qh's all over though /sigh lol.

FeatheredFeet 01-24-2013 04:55 PM

Why limit yourself to only QHs? There are tons of heavy type (not draft) horses for sale all the time on CL. Certainly, many of them are underfed and might not have training, but the price is usually right. And of course, many breeds can be trained to sort/cut cattle. There again, I doubt all of your customers need or want necessarily, a horse whom they can use on cattle. And what about auctions? Which auctions do you attend regularly? Some truly wonderful horses ending up on dinner plates these days.

Lizzie

Wallee 01-25-2013 09:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FeatheredFeet (Post 1860095)