The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Nutrition (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/)
-   -   Feeding Oats (United States horse folks) (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/feeding-oats-united-states-horse-folks-151180/)

LisaG 01-25-2013 12:46 PM

Feeding Oats (United States horse folks)

Hi everyone,
I'm a farm journalist in Canada.

I'm working on an article about oats and oat markets. Canadian oat growers are trying to regain the U.S. pony oat market. In the last several years, feed companies have been selling more processed/pelleted feeds to horse owners, which often contain other grains rather than oats, according to my sources (this is a general trend - there are likely individual suppliers that still use oats).

Anyway, I'm throwing up a quick poll that I may or may not use in my article. As the article is focusing on the U.S. equine oats market, I'd ask only Americans to fill out the poll. However, everyone is welcome to discuss anything related to oats, etc... on this thread, if you're not sick to death of the topic.

Trinity3205 01-25-2013 01:00 PM

I base my feeding plan around my forage and a well balanced for my area ration balancer. If I need extra calories, I use alfalfa or a non grain based senior feed. I would probably would not ever feed oats as it is cheaper to use the method I am using now and they are not a balanced fortified ration. Id still have to add to them to balance my horses diet.

LisaG 01-25-2013 01:07 PM

I'm really not a horse nutrition expert. What's in a ration balancer? Does it contain grain as well as fats, vitamins and minerals? And out of curiosity, what kind of grain is in your senior feed?

Speed Racer 01-25-2013 01:14 PM

I couldn't take the poll because although I think there are better alternatives than oats to feed horses, I don't necessarily think they're 'unhealthy'. Many people use them with good results, but I prefer a non-grain based feed regimen.

LisaG 01-25-2013 01:18 PM

Quote: