The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   English Saddle Question - New Rider (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/english-saddle-question-new-rider-151518/)

NordicMan 01-28-2013 01:05 PM

English Saddle Question - New Rider

Hi again --

Question about saddles - specifically size. Since starting riding last July, I've lost about 35 lbs. I am a 45 year old male, 5'9" and weigh about 200 lbs.

Whe I started riding, I used a school saddle size 19 1/2." About 2 months ago, my instructor started making overtures about me finding a better fitting saddle. We went to a local tack shop, and tried a very nice 18." It was too small. She ended up fiding me a usable 19" in school storage. It's actually a pretty nice saddle.

That said, I's like to be able to come down to the 18 1/2" or even 18" saddle size.

QUESTION - Will loosing more weight (I would like to loose another 20-30 lbs) push me to a smaller saddle size, or is saddle size also a function of body frame? When I sit in the saddles, It seems like I would need to go to very thin thighs and pelvis to go down ..

I have to also say my "butt" really isn't where I carry my weight. Its mosly gut, and I also have larger size thighs.

My main reason for asking is for when I may decide to get my own saddle; anything over 18" is near impossible to find. :-P

Speed Racer 01-28-2013 01:08 PM

Your weight isn't necessary the determining factor in saddle seat size. The length of your thighs has a lot to do with it, as well.

If the 19" fits, why would you want to go down a half size or more?

NordicMan 01-28-2013 01:27 PM

Trying to find a 19" saddle has been difficult ... right now the one I'm using is borrowed.

OutOfTheLoop 01-28-2013 01:34 PM