The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Therapeutic Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/therapeutic-riding/)
-   -   PATH mentoring?? (http://www.horseforum.com/therapeutic-riding/path-mentoring-152137/)

Amlalriiee 02-02-2013 07:34 PM

PATH mentoring??

Hey everyone! I used to use this forum all the time but I have been MIA lately. I have a huge horse-related issue to tackle, so I'm baaaack!

Alright, so I payed the fees, took the courses, passed the tests and now I'm an instructor in training. Just as I thought my dreams were coming true, I realized nobody within 7 hours of here is willing/able to mentor me. I live in Maine, and there are centers here but they all are either unable to do weekend and vacation lessons or expect me to make a multi day per week commitment. The problem being that since they are all so far away from me, I can't just drive over after work. I'm a full time special education teacher and I have a lot on my plate, but I really don't want the work that I've done to be wasted and I am desperate to finish my mentor hours somehow. Does anybody have any ideas???? I have contacted over 30 people and am having zero luck. I am a hard-worker, I'm willing to shovel poop and ride crazy horses that need work and pay money for this, but I need someone who can work with my schedule. Any bright ideas will make my day!!:D

Taffy Clayton 02-02-2013 07:47 PM

I honestly don't know what is involved but what about doing everything over spring break, get a hotel or better yet ask if someone would put you up, and work 50 hours or however many you need during that week, and be done or at least put a big dent in the mentor hours.

Amlalriiee 02-02-2013 08:27 PM

This was my idea as well. So far, the places I've contacted have NOT been okay with me going for a week or two and being done. It makes sense that they want the kids to have consistency, but it makes it impossible to become certified when the nearest center is 3 hours away...

sillyhorses 02-03-2013 02:05 AM