The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Equine Careers and Education (http://www.horseforum.com/equine-careers-education/)
-   -   I need a new career! (http://www.horseforum.com/equine-careers-education/i-need-new-career-152141/)

4horses 02-02-2013 07:20 PM

I need a new career!

I need a new career and I have no clue what I want to do!

The only thing I ever wanted in my life was to work with horses. I finally finished my Bachelor's degree in Animal Science and my plan was to move to Ocala and get a job as a Barn manager or riding instructor. Only disaster struck a month after I graduated and I caught a virus that has left me with permanent neurological issues (fainting spells, autonomic neuropathy, and random issues where my legs collapse while I walk). Now I'm being told I have a cyst (fluid filled hole) in my cervical spine. :shock:

It took 3 years to recover to the point I am at now and I've just started working again (10 hours a week) a few months ago. It is pretty clear that I will be lucky if I can handle working part time, so money is definitely an issue as my parents are paying for everything.

My back-up plan was to go to vet school. Obviously that is not going to work. Vet assistant doesn't pay enough.

I need a part time job that will still pay the bills. I'm thinking of going back to school and going into something medical. Nursing won't work because there is no way I can do 12 hour shifts... I like researching diseases, but I hate animal experimentation. Are there any master's degrees in Vet medicine? Everything I've seen says you need a PHD. A radiology tech program maybe?

I'm so lost and really heartbroken because horses are my love... I just don't know of any jobs that aren't physical. I've thought about Equine nutrition, but I don't have the money to leave home and there aren't any jobs in this area for that.