The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   What is the right seat? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/what-right-seat-152282/)

Frog316 02-04-2013 12:13 AM

What is the right seat?

I have been riding on and off for 10 years. Just bought my first horse and working with in original owner. He told me that I should be griping the saddle with my thigh to get a better seat. I always been taught that you should sit relaxed. I am very confused. Any one with a good way to explaine how to sit right please help. Thanks

tinyliny 02-04-2013 01:50 AM

your seat is not just your buttocks or seatbones. it incorporates your thigh, too. your thigh, if in contact with the saddle , can carry some of your weight, too. If your thigh is so relaxed that it is flacid, it will roll and flop about as the horse moves. Imagine if you put some kind of jelly up there, like, welll . . . .have you ever seen the dummy that they used in Myth Busters; "Buster"? he was made of some jelly that was supposed to mimic human flesh density.

But, since Buster cannot create any tension or tone in his body, when he was moved by something, he wobbled. His movement was a reaction to what moved him, and thus was a milisecond behind the movement of the thing moving him.

Your thigh , flacid , would be like Buster's jelly; the saddle would move and your thigh moves behind the motion. But, if you use muscle tone to hold your thing against the saddle (not rigid, but tones, not rock hard, but connected) your thigh will move AS ONE with the saddle.