The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Trainers (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-trainers/)
-   -   You and your trainers relationship? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-trainers/you-your-trainers-relationship-152417/)

BarnBum 02-05-2013 01:22 AM

You and your trainers relationship?

So I have a question, I will try to get to it without getting into too many personal details about whats happening to me.

Do you have a trainer that would go to the mat for you? Who genuinely enjoys having you around and would be distressed if you were unhappy and thought of leaving?

Or is that beyond the realm of professionalism? Thanks.

waresbear 02-05-2013 01:28 AM

I think I do, at least I hope so!

Kayty 02-05-2013 01:45 AM

Absolutely. I have been riding with my coach for 10 years now, and we are very good friends as well as student/coach. We can be best of friends, drink together, go away together, our families and partners are also very close - but when it comes to Dressage, we get right into it. She will happily yell at me, chase me with lunge whips, and demand absolute perfection. Then as soon as I get off, we're mates again.
I enjoy having such a relationship with my coach, as neither of us feel intimidated to not say something that needs saying, she will yell at me, I'll yell back at her if I don't like what she's telling me. We can go home and discuss concepts and ideas for hours!

BarrelracingArabian 02-05-2013 01:54 AM