The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   picking & cleaning feet (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/picking-cleaning-feet-152526/)

pinkpony555 02-05-2013 10:26 PM

picking & cleaning feet

I am a newbie and have taught myself to clean my barefoot mare's feet before and after our ride. Everyone in my barn picks out their horses feet before they ride-never after.I did it once after a ride, and found pebbles/shells/gunk in her feet which would have stayed there till we rode again in a few days. But in those few days, she may go lame. Just wanted to share- because I love her big feet !!

oliveoats 02-08-2013 01:02 PM

Agreed, it is SO important to pick feet and I see people who don't do it at all! I'm sure your mare really appreciates being put back with clean hooves, too!
I just started boarding my horse and the ground isn't quite as nice and dry as my old stalls. Ive started to get fairly anal about hooves. I find myself picking them before rides, after rides, during bath time, before and after turning out, and whenever I clean stalls.

InsaneDino 02-08-2013 02:29 PM

I'm glad you do that! I feel like a lot of people don't understand how important it is to clean hooves well and often. At my old barn, she always had HUGE stones in her hooves, because their pastures were full of them. Imagine having to walk around with rocks in your shoes for a couple of days. I couldn't stand seeing some people NEVER clean their horses feet. I know people who's horses feet only get cleaned every six weeks when the farrier comes out.

Don't feel weird for cleaning them before and after. I'm the same way if not worse. I always carry a hoofpick in my back pocket in case we walk somewhere muddy and we'll be walking across gravel afterwards. It doesn't hurt to care too much. C:

Golden Horse 02-08-2013 02:54 PM