The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Nutrition (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/)
-   -   Sweet Feed (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/sweet-feed-153071/)

ArabLover1999 02-10-2013 09:09 PM

Sweet Feed

What's your opinion on sweet feed? I've never used it before and would like to know a little bit about it.

BBBCrone 02-10-2013 09:24 PM

Well .. IMHO it's junk food for horses. I don't and won't feed it but this is just my opinion. I think you'd have to be more specific in what the mix is though.

Endiku 02-10-2013 09:30 PM

We fed it back when we didn't know any better. All of our horses were hot, a few were on the verge of founder/laminitis from all of the sugars, and many of them were always on the thin side or downright skinny and we couldn't figure out why considering that each of the big guys was getting 7-10 lbs (O_O BAD US!) and the minis were each getting at least a scoop. They all had terrible flies as well.

Soon as we switched to a different feed, decreased amounts, and started adding more forage, ALL of them gained weight, lost the snotty attitudes (Ok, most of them for that one...not all. LOL) and everyone just looks plain healthier too. Flies pretty much went away as well. Its like switching from candies and cakes to veggies and meat. You miss the candies at first (especially since its cheaper in some cases) but once you realize how good everyone feels on the veggies and meat, you wonder why you didnt change earlier! We went from feeding 40 horses (half minis) 5 bags of sweet feed a day (50 lbs) to only about 3 bags of mostly Safe Choice. Big difference IMO, and the prices ended up almost leveling out!

Dreamcatcher Arabians 02-10-2013 09:35 PM