The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Breaking and training bitless. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/breaking-training-bitless-153543/)

ApolloRider 02-15-2013 12:13 PM

Breaking and training bitless.

Hey guys,

I was wondering if its possible to train a horse from the start using a bitless bridle.
I've never done it bitless before, and people kind of look at me funny when I say that's the route I'm going.
I'm also getting a treeless saddle, to break him in.
This isn't the first horse I've broken, I've just never used this equipment before while training!

Thanks! :)

lilruffian 02-15-2013 12:36 PM

Of course it is. I'm in the process of training my filly in just a halter and she is going great (and she is half Fjord so VERY stubborn) But time and patience is key with these things. She's only 2 so i am in NO rush.
I would start with a rope halter, personally, and then maybe move up to a bitless but it all depends either way on what you do on the ground with her first.
You need to get her backing up really well to pressure on the face, as well as bending softly and giving into pressure both on the face and on the body where you will be using your legs.
This will all help to make her softer in the saddle when you climb up for the first time and every time after.
You must take the time to prepare her on the ground first, though, or else the whole bitless thing will just go out the window because the horse will not know/be willing to respond properly.

ApolloRider 02-15-2013 12:44 PM

Thanks!