The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Stirrup hobble strap question (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/stirrup-hobble-strap-question-153644/)

Customcanines 02-16-2013 10:33 AM

Stirrup hobble strap question

1 Attachment(s)
OK i guess I'm stupid. I have used stirrup hobbles for years. I put them on with th buckle in the back, but it never seemed to make a difference how I put them on other than that - which way the buckle was facing - toward the front of the horse or the back. I recently started making hand tooled tirrup hobbbles and selling them on e-bay. I've received nothing but good review, although I know I am just learning. Anyway, I got a message last night about a pair of stirrup hobbles that had a picture of a deer on both hobbles.

" you put the strape going back words the deer is up side down.
do it and you will see that the deer is up side down.because you want both strapes going
backwards.the long piece.so we cant use them this way at all.one hobbleshould be going right,one shouls be going left.if you put them on right.and that makes the deer not right.if they were plan it wouldnt matter.but because of the deer thats the problem.know the same (the deer).can you put them on a saddle?."

I put the hobbles on my saddle, and I just didn't see a problem - the buckle is in the back,either way I put it, and the tooled side is correct. IS there a 'right" and 'left " hobble? PLEASE someone, HELP!!!

COWCHICK77 02-16-2013 11:33 AM

50 Attachment(s)
Without seeing the ends of your hobble straps it is hard for me to tell for sure. But I always do my hobble straps so the tongue of the buckle points to the "outside" and the tail goes to the "inside". So if you are painting your images on the straps with tails pointing say to the right, then if you put them on your saddle like described, one would be upside down. Does that make sense?

Customcanines 02-16-2013 11:48 AM