The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Driving (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/)
-   -   Wanting to start driving (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/wanting-start-driving-153796/)

SnowCowgirl 02-17-2013 04:26 PM

Wanting to start driving

Hi everyone!

I'm a total beginner to driving but would really like to start training my mare to drive. I did ground drive her a bunch while saddle breaking her as a 4 year old... but that was 10 years ago now! We were to the point where she was pulling a tire around the arena... but everything I did was total guess work and I'm not sure how "proper" my training techniques were.

I'm just wondering what the best way to get started would be....? Unfortunately, I don't see having access to a driving trainer or clinic anytime. I'm thinking about picking up a book, does anyone have any suggestions?

Harness-wise, would you suggest one with a collar or one of those breast-strap type dealies? I can't see pulling a lot of weight with her and not for any longer than maybe 2 hours at a time (far in the future!).

Regarding the collar... I know I should try some on her (will be very hard, I'm located very far north in an unhorsey community and no one sells driving gear) but I've also been looking into how to measure her. In the meantime, can anyone give me a rough idea as to what size of horse a 23" collar would fit....? My mare is draft cross, maybe 15hh and solidly built.

churumbeque 02-17-2013 06:37 PM

Carriage Driving Essentials

Carriage Driving Essentials

Here are 2 good books to get you started

Endiku 02-17-2013 06:43 PM

I have the problem of having no one who sells driving gear either, and I have to order EVERYTHING online. Extremely annoying >.> However, Iowa Valley Horse Carriages has really great staff and helped me fit my mare by asking for very specific measurements. Amber Hillside Horse Harnesses is pretty good too, though they're cheaper and thus the tack isnt as high quality.

churumbeque 02-17-2013 06:48 PM