The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Jumping Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/jumping-critique-153871/)

JumpingJiminy 02-18-2013 01:56 AM

Jumping Critique

I've been so bored lately I need something to keep my occupied for a little bit at least, and I'd like to be able to learn something at the same time. Some background information -
Me: I'm 15, I only started riding english about 2-3 months prior to buying Sunny. I've only been jumping for about a year and a half/2 years.
My horse - A 7 year old dark bay gelding by the name of Sunny Serenade, I bought him August 21st, 2011, straight off the track, infact he had raced that same day. I'm the only person who rides him or who has ridden him since his racing career except a trainer who tried him at the track that day(I've since switched trainers). We're now training for jumpers.

I've probably said too much pointless stuff already.

Feel free to critique us both, be as harsh as you like, but try to keep in mind that he's still a bit of a baby.

http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphoto...65166507_n.jpg

Sorry, it's late and I'm tired, yet too stupid to go to sleep.
Also: I am aware that he gets strung out sometimes and we're working on how he likes to swap leads in front of the jumps.

MyBoyPuck 02-18-2013 08:23 PM

He looks like a blast! I like your position. You're quiet, hands are in a good spot and you stay centered over him. Since you're doing jumpers, I think you would save a lot of time on course if your work his outside aids a bit to shave some distance off the turns. He seems to blow through the outside aids a bit when going around corners. I get that he's enthusiastic and wants to get to the next fence, but if you get him to that same obstacle using a shorter distance and more impulsion, you'll have a better trip and more controllable horse.

JumpingJiminy 02-18-2013 08:52 PM