The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Pleasure (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/)
-   -   Neck Reining!! (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/neck-reining-154208/)

SouthernRider14 02-20-2013 10:17 PM

Neck Reining!!

Help! I have a show comming up and My horse Belle only knows direct reining, How do I teach her to neck rein?!:lol:

DraftyAiresMum 02-20-2013 10:18 PM

Subbing cuz I need to learn how to teach this, too!!
Posted via Mobile Device

Tracer 02-20-2013 10:39 PM

I'm no expert, but I think you just start by adding in the neck reining cues to your normal riding. By that, I mean ride on a loose rein with both hands and when you turn, touch the outside rein to the horses' neck whilst you give your other aids. Try not to touch the bit unless you have to. Eventually just the touch of the rein on the neck should turn the horse.

ponypile 02-20-2013 11:49 PM

The first step is to teach your horse to move laterally off leg pressure. This means you are able to do a turn on the haunches, forehand, and leg yield and side pass. If you horse doesn't already do this well under saddle, you need to teach it to do it on the ground.