The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   General Off Topic Discussion (http://www.horseforum.com/general-off-topic-discussion/)
-   -   Ways to Pull in a Little Cash (http://www.horseforum.com/general-off-topic-discussion/ways-pull-little-cash-154623/)

Corazon Lock 02-25-2013 12:39 AM

Ways to Pull in a Little Cash

I've been thinking today that I could use a little more income here and there. I'm a full time college student at the community college. I take 12 credit hours this semester.

Currently, I work at the local grocery store mainly cashiering, but I have been trained in almost every department, most commonly working produce when I'm not cashiering. I make $8/hr. Minimum wage is $7.25/hr. I'm fairly sure I'm at the top of the payscale there. Anyway, I get 22-28 hours a week. When I get done with college for the semester, I plan on trying to get full-time hours in the greenhouse. It's the most boring job ever but the only place there that I could get full-time. I've stuck with this job for 3 years and enjoy it. I am going off to university in the fall, so I feel like a change in job wouldn't really be helpful. Most places are paying minimum or a quarter above for starting rates - even at department stores, etc. So I'll take $8 over that!

What would be some other ways to pull in a little income? I don't think I could handle working a second job on top of everything else. I am going to go through my horse stuff and my personal stuff, trying to sell whatever I don't need and am not attached to (like the prom dress in my closet...). Any other creative ideas? I'm really good at speaking and writing - I'm a journalism major. Ideas?

alexischristina 02-25-2013 01:40 AM