The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Saddle Slipping Side to Side (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/saddle-slipping-side-side-154921/)

lschaab 02-27-2013 02:57 PM

Saddle Slipping Side to Side

I have been riding for 12 years (after a 20 year hiatus) and have recently started leasing an American Paint who is very round (not fat). I have never had any problems with my saddle on any other horse (I also lesson on hunter/jumpers 2 x per week), until now. The mare is uneven on her shoulders, I am not sure if it is due to muscle build up or just her unique body type. Anyway, my saddle slips wickedly to the right. I have tried different girths, tightening the girth more (ouch!), no-slip pads, an expensive Mattes pad, shortening the right stirrup, nothing works. Suggestions? Since this is a half-lease, I am not certain that a saddle fitting is the answer. The owner also experiences the same slippage.

bonyroany 02-27-2013 05:40 PM

Have you tried this pad?

Professionals Choice English Non-Slip Pad Black - Horse.com

I've never used one, but have considered buying one.

Good luck!

BornToRun 02-27-2013 05:49 PM

Sounds like a saddle fit problem to me. That's exactly what my mares' saddle does on my gelding, the saddle is too small for him. I would check your tack fit.

lschaab 02-27-2013 07:32 PM

Saddle Slippage

I have a pad very similar to the one you mention, to no avail. I also ride a horse in my lesson program, of almost the identical build to the horse I am leasing, and have no issues with the saddle slipping in any way. Because I am only half leasing this horse, I would prefer to avoid getting the saddle fitted. But... I have never had a saddle fitted, so my objection is not well qualified!

cowgirl4753 02-27-2013 08:14 PM