The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Hoof Care (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/)
-   -   Study on barefoot trimming (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/study-barefoot-trimming-154965/)

trailhorserider 02-27-2013 11:08 PM

Study on barefoot trimming

For those of use who believe going barefoot is healthier for our horses, here is a study that backs it up. :-)

The Horse | Study: Barefoot Trimming Can Impact Hoof Conformation | TheHorse.com

trailhorserider 03-01-2013 01:54 AM

I guess the rest of the world doesn't find hooves as interesting as I do. :lol:

loosie 03-01-2013 02:57 AM

Hehe, not at all interested... I just need a hypnotherapist to program me not to look below the knees of the ones I'm not responsible for!

Animallover707 03-01-2013 03:03 AM

lol thanks for the post! I cant get a farrier up this far in the mountains so im studying all i can about hooves!

Leggzrider 03-02-2013 01:14 AM

Barefoot trimming is amazing. My mare travels better than she ever did with shoes. I have studied with a farrier so I could do my own horses. My knowledge is pretty much limited to keeping my 3 horses and my moms 2 traveling the trails. I wouldn't ever go back to waiting around for the farrier...

Missy May 03-02-2013 01:38 AM

I was forced into doing my own trimming (my little girl "takes aim" at farriers). I went into it kicking and screaming, but then it became an obsession. Mainly because initially I had no idea what I was doing (not that I am an expert now) and was so worried about making a mistake. It amazed me how "interesting" I found something I absolutely did NOT want to learn!!!

loosie 03-02-2013 03:32 AM

^ I think it could be an addiction actually!

Leggzrider 03-02-2013 11:46 AM

Now it is pedi time for my horses. I found all us were much more relaxed now that I am not getting irritated waiting for a farrier who was always late and rude and my horses like the extra attention from me. It is just a better experience now.