The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Help a western newbie? (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/help-western-newbie-154997/)

Midna 02-28-2013 08:25 AM

Help a western newbie?

Hi! Last december I bought this beautiful gypsy vanner mare, which is trained for western pleasure.
I'd known this mare for 6 years, and had been wanting her for just as long.
But I don't know anything about the western style or.. yeah, anything. I've been riding for 18 years, mostly just as a hobby and under some instruction.

My mare is very sensible, sensetive and well trained. If I do anything wrong, she gets all confused, both when in the saddle and on the ground.
A little feeling in my tummy has started to whisper that I may have bought the wrong horse. But we're a perfect match in every other way. She's been almost everywhere in Norway, sold time after time, at least eight times in only three years. And every previous owner I've talked have said she's a stubborn and dangerous horse. I've seen nothing about her that reminds me about a stubborn and dangerous horse... (Except when we're outside the course; she suddenly can turn around and try to run home, but its no problem to stop her).

Okay, enough of my frustrations and to the problem.
Since I've only been riding english for 18 years, and never ever have been instructed by a western trainer, I have no idea how to ride her like she wants to be ridden(?), which is western. I know its hard to learn by reading something someone else has written, but its my only hope. There is no western trainers here where I live (all the way up north in Norway, next to the russian border), and if I am to get instruction from a trainer from here, my only choice is english.