The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Conformation Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/)
-   -   Confo Critique on Appy Paso fino Cross (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/confo-critique-appy-paso-fino-cross-155183/)

AppyCrazy 03-02-2013 02:23 AM

Confo Critique on Appy Paso fino Cross

2 Attachment(s)
Hey, this is my first post, I've been lurking for awhile now.

Anyway, this is Rocky, he's 12yrs and I mostly use him for trails. I'm thinking of starting him on a little bit of jumping, nothing big just 2' or so. I'm not very good with confirmation, and would like to know if there is anything I should be aware of that may cause problems in the future. And don't be nice. I want to know exactly what I have, but I will love him to death no matter what.

Thank you!

P.S sorry for the photos these are from last summer and he is a bit under muscled. If you need other ones just let me know, and I can go out and take them, he will be just a bit fuzzy, and fat from winter. :-P

Faceman 03-02-2013 11:18 AM

I don't care for that cross at all - at least not in his case. His conformation is a bit jumbled up all over the place. That doesn't mean he cannot be a good trail horse, of course - just that his conformation is a bit odd...sort of Appy in front and Paso in the rear. I have a couple of odd ones myself. Out of curiosity, is he gaited?

DraftyAiresMum 03-02-2013 11:59 AM

I wouldn't jump this horse...at least not competitively. Messing around dinking over jumps at home is one thing and any horse can do if, if not do it well.

He's got a long back and, unless he's seriously undermuscled, his back looks to be roached. His hind end is weak and he's very long through the gaskin. I don't like his hind end angles at all. They're very "gaited horse" to me and won't do him any favors when he's trying to jump. His hocks are set high, as well.