The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   First critique - please help me with my position (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/first-critique-please-help-me-my-155659/)

kimj 03-07-2013 02:18 AM

First critique - please help me with my position

Hello,

Would love a critique of both me and my horse. I'm an adult rider (just about 40), been riding a few years now, taking lessons but my coach is too easy on me :wink: as she knows I struggle with confidence/nervousness issues. I've been quite a nervous Nellie over the years so it took a long time for me to even be comfortable cantering, and this horse in particular I used to be terrified of as he would always be naughty with timid riders, run their legs into the rail, etc, so I just started riding him this year. I now lease him and ride him about 2-3 times a week, twice on my own and once a week group lesson (hunter barn).

So my big issue is my position. I'm a perfectionist so I over-think it to death but rarely feel like I've quite got the right position. I have a tendency to lean forward and also have somewhat of a chair seat I think, but I can't seem to fix either of them no matter what I do. If I lean back, especially in the canter, I feel like I bounce around on his back which I don't do as much if I stay in a lighter more forward seat. I haven't the foggiest notion how to 'glue my seatbones to the saddle' (like you often hear). In theory, I get it, but I just can't seem to make it happen.

It doesn't help I'm sure that my horse is huge (though he's on a diet) and I have itty bitty short legs so I have a hard time my legs getting around him but any constructive criticism/advice greatly appreciated on how to improve. This video was taken at the start of my ride so we were both just warming up, but it's the only one I have.