The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Going from Hunt seat to Saddleseat (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/going-hunt-seat-saddleseat-155880/)

uflrh9y 03-09-2013 07:42 AM

Going from Hunt seat to Saddleseat

My daughter decided she wanted to ride Saddleseat (yay). Her upper body and hands are great but she is having trouble with keeping her leg back in a saddleseat saddle and her heels down and away. Her knees were always tight against the saddle in huntseat but changing from SS to HS, she is frustrated in why it's so much harder to keep her knees in and her leg back. I always rode SS so I have no experience switching. Has anyone switched and found the transition in leg position difficult. Why? And are there some exercises she can do at home to strengthen her legs?

Thanks

boots 03-09-2013 03:45 PM

Lots of easy exercises that don't require fancy equipment. Many, many sites on the internet.

Pretty much anything that engages the muscles of the legs (of course), and the hind end and lower back will help. Four or five days a week. 15 to 20 minutes on those days.

Do exercises for the whole body. Within two weeks she may notice an improvement.

Palomine 03-09-2013 09:08 PM

Standing with ball of feet on stairs, and lowering body up and down will help in this.

KylieHuitema 03-12-2013 09:04 AM

For me, I show multiple horses a year, which one of them is a NSH who back in the day was a 1/2 pt away from national top 10 for country pleasure. Saddleseat is a blast! I don't have a hard transition since I practicedpracticedpracticed western, english, saddleseat, but mostly bareback! All my muscle comes from bareback posting, or stirrupless

SaddleOnline 03-12-2013 05:51 PM