The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   good horse stupid rider (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/good-horse-stupid-rider-15594/)

sandy2u1 10-06-2008 04:14 PM

good horse stupid rider

as most of ya know...im a noob. Major and I have hit our first serious problem today and I really need help. Just so ya know...selling him is NOT an option nor is hiring a trainer at this time. about a week or two ago...i saddled Major to ride and as I was getting up in the saddle a strap broke...sending me and the saddle to the ground. it scared Major...but i didnt think it was that big a deal at the time. I finally got the saddle fixed yesterday, so today I saddled him again. When I tried to mount he started spinning in circles. I finally got him to stand still good by lunging him when he moved. then when I got almost in the saddle...he took off running and bucking. I did get a real life experience in getting bucked off...not fun. after i caught him...i took him to the round pen and lunged him for a little bit. I worked for a long time trying to get back in the saddle...but just couldnt get him still. Hes fine with me doing anything with him at all until I act like im gonna get in the saddle (reaching up and grabbing it or the stirrup). I realize that ive cause this problem and I wanna fix it. I be doing the wrong thing though...and make it worse. Somebody plz help me!!!

SonnyWimps 10-06-2008 04:22 PM

start with some groundwork.
I don't suggest lunging because it can actually get the horse more worked up then calmed down. Appylover gave me this link and this is a good website about the cons of lunging a horse Round Penning