The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Buying a horse with potential Stringhalt? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/buying-horse-potential-stringhalt-156542/)

Cyrian 03-16-2013 12:16 PM

Buying a horse with potential Stringhalt?

I recently found this horse I'd like to purchase so we had him vetted and apparently there was a concern of a stringhalt problem. I didn't know what stringhalt was when I went to try out the horse but didn't notice anything unusual. The vet which vetted him rang up one of our local vets and told him the concerns, I then spoke to our local vet who strongly advised to thoroughly consider the choice.

So I rang up the dealer which was selling the horse and spoke to him and he said he didn't have stringhalt and that the vet thought it might have been but then just put it down to being "very active behind" I have been using this dealer for over 7 years and know many people who have used him also, I have always received quality horses and have never been lied to about a problem. The horse did pass the 5* vetting despite the stringhalt concerns, I am waiting to hear off the vet that vetted the horse to talk with him rather than the dealer. What do you guys think about this situation?

Sherian 03-16-2013 01:18 PM

Depends on what you are going to do with the horse. I've known horses that have hunted for years with no special maintenance that have stringhalt, or competed as jumpers happily. Wouldn't chance it for a hunter (it ruins the look) or dressage (could hurt your movement scores). For western I would assume the same - anything judged on a subjective basis no, a purely results oriented sport he'd be ok.

Cyrian 03-16-2013 01:20 PM

he would be a jumper. jumping 1.20/1.30

natisha 03-16-2013 01:29 PM

I'd go with the vet's advice instead of the person trying to sell the horse.

DraftyAiresMum 03-16-2013 01:38 PM