The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Help! I'm a camp barn boss (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/help-im-camp-barn-boss-156550/)

Silverdoc 03-16-2013 12:54 PM

Help! I'm a camp barn boss

This year I was asked to be barn boss at our churches camp. I have no idea as to why they picked me since I "wrangled " one week last year and my horse knowledge is limited at best. Anyhow, I'm boss. I will have a heard of about 18 horses. Most of them in the geriatric group. I have a 11 & 9 yearold geldings. I'm not sure if these oldies but goodies need special care or not. Then there's the delema of how to keep kids that have never seen a horse safe while keeping kids that know the tail from the nose interested. Is there any ideas or info out there for this particular delema. I do have an AHT degree, so I'm not worried about basic health things, but I'm still learning how to ride properly myself. I know the kids come up to the barn and the horses are already saddled and waiting. How much info should they get before getting on and what do I do with them before they go on the trail? I'll have ages grouped as ' senior high', 'junior high' and ' pre-teen'. Thankfully I'm not doing the primary camp this year. Any help would be much appreciated. Oh, I've had my horse a whole 5/6 years.

Palomine 03-16-2013 01:56 PM

Herd, not heard.

And not sure if you are calling 9/11 year olds geriatric or not? But those are not even close to being old. And are they yours or the camp horses.

If you are comfortable telling us you don't have the experience for this, you really need to do the camp a favor and tell them that too. From what you are writing I don't think you are ready for this, nor have the background to keep this kids safe.

Please reconsider doing this if you are going to be the ones working directly with the kids.